top of page

An everyday fairytale with McLachlan Studios

Kaylyn and I first connected well over a year ago,

way back when I was still living in England and making all necessary arrangements to move to Canada. I saw a competition McLachlan Studios was running to win an engagement shoot. You had to share your love story and then there would be one lucky couple who would get the amazing opportunity to work with these ridiculously talented people. I sat at my computer bouncing up and down on Facetime to Adam, squealing about how amazing it would be to win.

Their work is honestly so incredible.

Kaylyn and Sean truly have a natural talent for capturing connection and magic. Seriously, see for yourself here. Get yourself a blanket and a hot drink because you will just love scrolling through these dreamy galleries. So, needless to say, despite not being Engaged, I decided to share my story still. Kaylyn and I quickly got chatting, and although Adam and I couldn't win the shoot because we weren't engaged, Kaylyn and I connected online from that point on. I followed as McLachlan Studios captured more and more incredible families, couples and stories, and dreamed about one day having the opportunity to capture amazing memories like that.

Little did I know that this day would come sooner than I thought...

Fast forward a year, and I had built my @thisgirlshines Instagram account and had many wonderful Shine Seekers following me. WHAT EVEN. I never imagined I would have built something like this, and I definitely never would have imagined that Kaylyn would reach out to say she'd love to capture #ourlovelegacy. My reaction contained squeals of excitement and endless planning of outfits and photo styles and everything else involved in something like this. Adam and I couldn't wait to meet Kaylyn and make this all happen!

The shoot was the most precious Christmas Gift Imaginable...

We arranged to meet in early December. We discussed whether to do a home or outdoor session and decided a home session would be really special, especially with the colder days! Kaylyn travelled across from the Sunshine Coast in BC where she lives with her husband Sean (They are a Husband & Wife Business/Family/Generally Awesome power Team) and their two gorgeous children. Jealous much? That part of BC is soooo stunning and tranquil. Adam and I stayed in a quaint log cabin out there in November '15 and although it was absolutely freezing (Off the grid, no heating LOL) we fell in love with the beauty out there and the quirky details of the cabin (think wolf printed refrigerator door and crystals hanging in the window). It's funny, because this place is almost a metaphor for Kaylyn and her work. Calm, Happy, Free Spirited and Creative. Something special. A natural charisma that can make anyone feel at home in her presence.

When Kaylyn arrived, it felt as if we were old friends

We both said "It feels as though I already know you!". Kaylyn quickly showed us why McLachlan Studios has become so successful and is so outstanding not just in the images they produce, but in the experience from start to finish. Adam and I are naturally both awkward in front of a camera (as most of us are) and Kaylyn was able to make us feel comfortable straight away. We laughed and joked through the whole session and found the whole experience so natural and fun. It was real. Because we were so relaxed, Kaylyn was able to really capture "Us" perfectly. Our real smiles, our real love, our real connection.The session itself was an amazing experience but nothing could prepare me for the photos that Kaylyn had back to us in only 3 DAYS. Talk about Wonder Woman. I cried when I saw the masterpieces she sent to us. I cried the kind of tears that are full of emotion and happiness and gratitude. It truly was a WOW moment.

The Images are beyond beautiful

This experience for us really highlighted just how precious it is to capture your life and the people you love. Photography itself is underrated, truly, and I think talented photographers are even more underrated. To be able to really encapsulate the essence of who people are, to showcase their love with exquisite class and style, is a skill that not everyone has. Kaylyn gave us the gift of a time capsule of our life as we know it right now, that one day we will share with our future Children and generations to come. One day we will want to remember our early days, our first home, our precious dogs and our young love. Now, we have that, and we could not be more thankful. If there's one thing you can do for your future self and family - Invest in quality photography. I promise you that you will thank yourself later, and cherish every single image forever.

We can't wait for McLachlan Studios to capture every milestone and special moment in our lives from now on.

This is only the beginning of our everyday fairytale.

Show some love to @mclachlanstudios on instagram and facebook

Follow me on instagram @thisgirlshines

Hair & Makeup by the talented Glamna - check out her instagram and visit her website - you won't regret it!

View our session below and leave a comment!

We hope you love them as much as we do!

Keep shining,

Estelle xo

bottom of page