top of page

What I'm Grateful For

October as arrived in all her glory, frosted mornings and falling leaves, extra blankets on the bed and hot tea.

In Canada this means that thanksgiving is just around the corner, and although I grew up in England where thanksgiving doesn't exist, I have come to really understand and respect the meaning behind it.

Gratitude is powerful. We get so caught up in what we want that we forget to notice everything we already have. Even the best of us complain sometimes, and I feel that writing down the things that we are really, truly grateful for is a necessary excercise for awareneness and mindfulness. Everyone has something to be thankful for.

1. The breath I just took.

This might sound strange, and pretty heavy for my first point. I mean this in a positive way. To me, this is the foundation of everything. In my life, I've seen people lose their lives far too early, good people. People who deserved more. I've had my own struggles, days where I felt my own life was worthless, and when I look back at that I feel guilt and regret but most of all I feel sadness, that I wasn't able to see my own value, and how lucky I am to be alive. This last year, I've watched journeys of people fighting for their lives, people I know and people I don't know. I've seen lives end, but I've also seen lives begin. The world has seen senseless killing, terrorist attacks and needless violence. People have fled from war risking their own lives for safety. I want it in writing that I am aware, and I am so thankful for the gift that is my life. I feel my heart beating, I feel my lungs filling with air, and my heart is full of gratitude.

2. People. Special, Wonderful, Inspiring People.

It's easy to lose faith in human kind, in light of the atrocities that some people commit and support. It's important to remember that for every awful person, are countless people who do good, every day. People who fight for human and animal rights. People who fight racism and injustice. People who give everything to help people they don't know. People who do so much more than I have time to write down. There are people who care. I see you all. I'm thankful for your existence and everything you give to me and the rest of the world.

3. My loved ones

Near, far. The people I love. The animals I love. I'm thankful that you're here, I'm thankful that I can talk to you and see you. I love you and I will never take you for granted. My family, my best friends, my dogs and my wonderful Adam. You are everything to me.

4. Health

I'm thankful for my health. I can see, smell, touch, walk and talk. Life isn't always easy and I have to battle with certain aspects of my health from time to time, but I am just SO thankful that I am able to fight, and that I am able to live my life every day wihout illness.

5. My Home

The word "home" to me really encapsulates everything in my main circle of life. I'm thankful for a place to sleep, food to eat, water to drink and a safe place to return to. I'm thankful for every single thing in every room. I'm thankful for everything we built, and every gift we have been given. I'm so lucky to have a home of abundance. My heart is full of gratitude and awareness for all that I have.

6. Little Moments

It's the little things in life that are often the most precious and the most overlooked. I try my best to see the details in everyday. The flowers he bought me, the dogs excitement to see me, the northern lights above our garden and the stars in the sky. When he tells me he loves me, when I'm in someones thoughts, when we laugh and dance around like teenagers. I'm thankful for every little moment and every big moment too.

7. The Hard Times

It might seem strange to be thankful for the Valleys inbetween the Mountains, but I firmly believe that our hardest times shape us into the best version of ourselves. The lessons, realisations and rock bottom breakdowns. Feeling lost, but finding your way. Feeling alone, but discovering you have so many people who care. Feeling like all hope is gone until something happens that changes everything. Finding courage in the darkness. I'm thankful for it all, because it made me who I am.

8. My Talents, Gifts and Abilities

I have lost count of the amount of times I have focused on everything I can't do, instead of what I can, or could do if I put my mind to it. It's easy to get lost in self doubt and lack of self esteem, but it's important for all of us to realise that we are all different for a reason, and that we all have something special and unique to offer to the world. I'm thankful for my uniqueness, and for everything that I CAN and WILL do in my life.

9. Nature

We have SO much to learn from nature. There is so much beauty out there for us to see if we only open our eyes. Trees, flowers and animals. I'm thankful for it's perfection. I'm thankful that humans haven't succeeded in destroying it. I'm thankful for the sunsets that have warmed my heart and mornings full of opportunity. Sunshine, Rain, Sleet and Snow. Nature reminds us how small we are, and just how much we have all around us.

10. You

You, reading this. I'm thankful for you, I'm grateful for you, and I'm glad you're alive. I'm excited for all you have to achieve in your life still, and I'm proud of you for what you have already done. You are important. Thankyou for sharing in my gratitude, and I hope that you too will take the time to write down all the things that fill your heart and soul with thanks this thanksgiving.

Until next time,

Estelle xo

@thisgirlshines

bottom of page